Savory Sundays: Swiss Steak

Yummo! There is nothing better than meat and veggies! This evening I made a delicious dinner that was warm, hearty, and tasty. Not only that, it was inexpensive and easy to make. A total of 45 minutes! Not bad at all!

Tonight’s Menu: Swiss Steak, Carrots, and Dinner Rolls.

I picked up a Swiss Steak bag and seasoning packet at Hy-Vee about 2 weeks ago and stumbled upon it today. I decided to use my cube steak out of the freezer and added some cooked carrots and dinner rolls for a wonderful dinner.

What you will need:

4-6 Round or Cube Steaks

1 Packet Swiss Steak Bag and Season

1 8 oz can of tomato sauce

1 c. water

2 tbsp. flour

carrots (canned, frozen, or raw)

Dinner rolls (homemade or brown and serve)

How to make it: I simply used the bag and season mix. I sprinkled the seasoning over the cube steaks, poke them with a fork, and lined them evenly in a 9×13 baking dish inside the baking bag. I then mixed the water, tomato sauce, and flour together with a whisk and poured it into the baking bag. I cooked them at 350 degrees for 40 minutes.

After the steak was in the over for 20 minutes, I starting cooking the carrots over medium heat on the stove top. After another 10 minutes I placed brown and serve dinner rolls into the oven at the same temperature to finish up with the steak. After a total of 45 minutes I had a warm, easy to make dish that the family (all 6) loved!

Leave a Reply

