The Dishes of Life: a quiet night.

Relax

Image by Roslan Tangah (aka Rasso) via Flickr

It’s almost 10 o’clock at night. The kids are tucked in and fast asleep. The hubby is off to work. And I, well, I am relaxing. I am enjoying a nice, quiet evening night to myself. I don’t get this very often. Normally I get up and run around until I drop taking care of everything for everyone except for myself. I took the time earlier today to do wash every stitch of clothing, wash every dirty dish, sweep every floor, wipe every counter… well you get the point. Now it’s me time. It’s getting late in the evening, yet I have put to brew another round of coffee and I looking forward to enjoying the next couple of hours of silence. The best part, I will get the kids off to school at 7 am and then I can crawl back into bed with my man and don’t have to be at class until 1 o’clock tomorrow. I can stay up and enjoy this silence. Ah.

Is it wrong for me to want to be alone? It has been a long time since I have known what alone feels like. I spend my every day taking care of my children and my spouse. It is a rare moment when I can just stop and think about me. Lately, I will drift off to the bathroom and run a hot bath. I will lay in there with a hot cup of tea and a good book. I can waste just an hour in the bliss of silence. I look forward to these moments. Most women of my age (24) would rather get a night out with the girls or go shopping. Not me. All I want is pure silence. Not to think, not to worry, not to work. Just to breathe and take in its power. To get away to myself for just an instant. To read a book I have been trying to finish for a month. It’s amazing. I can’t believe how precious it is. We all grow surrounding ourselves with friends and family and love their company, but isn’t it wonderful to just get some time to yourself? I look forward to it. Not frequently. But when I do, I am just…. happy.

Leave a Reply

